top of page


Alex has worked in the oil industry, broadcasting and banking and runs a consultancy working mainly in the criminal justice sector including police, prisons and probation. 

As Michael Walters, he published three crime novels set in modern-day Mongolia now republished in new re-edited editions. As Alex Walters he has written two books set in and around Manchester and featuring the undercover officer, Marie Donovan, Trust No-One and Nowhere to Hide, five books featuring DCI Kenny Murrain, Late CheckoutDark Corners and  Snow Fallen, Stilled Voices and Life Remains, and five books set on Scotland's Black Isle  featuring DI Alec McKay and DS Ginny Horton, Candles and Roses, Death Parts UsTheir Final Act, Expiry Date,  For Their Sins and A Parting Gift. He has also written Winterman, a historical crime thriller set in the East Anglian fens in 1947, and Human Assets, a light-hearted spy thriller. His latest series is set in the Peak District and features DI Annie Delamere, and currently comprises four books, Small Mercies, Lost Hours and Bad Terms and Old Evils (forthcoming) 

After many years in Manchester, Alex now lives in the Scottish Highlands where he runs a writing retreat with his wife, occasional sons and too many cats.

He can be contacted at:

Twitter: @mikewalters60


Writing Retreat: www.

bottom of page